Barney McClure – Jazz Piano

 Barney McClure           The Seattle Scene
barneymcclure The peripatetic Barney McClure is a man of many interests, and several careers. Born in Ohio and raised in California, he worked in the movie and TV industry in Hollywood in the 60s but left that scene in 1970 to tour for several years, supplementing his income when necessary by working in boat building and construction.A long run up the West Coast found him in Port Townsend on Washington’s Olympic Peninsula where he settled in a new home and took a temporary break from music.

He mounted a successful campaign for mayor. Dubbed “The Jazz Mayor” he combined his interest in politics with music as he re-emerged as a first-call pianist for visiting artists in Seattle clubs and at the Jazz Port Townsend Festival each summer. Ernestine Anderson, Mark Murphy, Herb Ellis, Bud Shank, Sonny Stitt, Sweets Edison and many others benefited from Barney’s sensitive and swinging accompaniment.

Even with all of this activity he found time to serve a term in the Washington State Legislature from 1983-1985, and managed the Performance and Outreach Program at Pacific Lutheran University.

Barney and Diane now live in the Palm Springs, California area and are busier and having more fun than ever. 


Not a Day Goes By – $19.50 Photographs – $16.00
McClure -notaday 


1. Here’s That Rainy Day
2. Big Alice
3. Show Me
4. Summertime
5. The Masquerade Is Over
6. Howjududat
7. Not a Day Goes By
8. Everybody Seems to Know I Love You
9. John’s Tune
10. Besame Inga
11. Over the Rainbow
12. Sweet Emma
12. Fly Away
McClure -photos
1. Here’s That Rainy Day
2. Willow Weep For Me
3. I Fall in Love Too Easily
4. Hookin’ It
5. Knowhere
6. Pete’n Repeat
7. Stella by Starlight
8. Willow Cheyenne
9. John Grey
10. Iowa Wedding Song
11. Photograph
McClure – piano, Hammond B-3
Chuck Deardorf – bass
Jay Thomas – trumpet, flugelhorn, soprano, tenor sax
Mike Buono – drms, Ernesto Pediangco – percussion
McClure – piano, Chuck Deardorf – bass,
Denney Goodhew – woodwinds,
Mike McKinley – drums
Among Friends – $16.00    
McClure -amongfriends

1. Emily
2. Spot
3. Cinnabar
4. Besame Mucho
5. Take the “A” Train
6. Lotus Blossom
7. Haunted Ballroom
8. To Bill Evans
9. House of Harboc
10. Among Friends
11. July
McClure – piano, Chuck Deardorf – bass