George Mitchell – Jazz Piano

 George Mitchell          The Portland Scene

George Mitchell has been pop superstar Diana Ross’ first-call pianist for more than two decades. Since 1980, he has accompanied her musical ensemble performing internationally… playing hundreds of concerts all over the world… as well as extensive touring throughout the United States.

Mitchell’s keyboard talents were featured in command performances for the Queen of England, and more recently at Super Concerts in Taipei and Japan, with Ms. Ross and renowned opera singers Jose Carreras and Placido Domingo. He has made numerous appearances as an ensemble player on top-rated television and radio shows, including: The Tonight Show, Late Night with David Letterman, NBC’s Today Show and Oprah.

When not touring, Mitchell pursues his first love… playing jazz piano, B-3 Hammond organ and keyboards. From an early age, the Portland, Oregon, native displayed a musical maturity and talent that landed him engagements with jazz legends such as Sonny Stitt, Philly Jo Jones, Richie Cole, Eddie Harris, Jon Hendricks and Kirk Whalum.

From leader to sideman, Mitchell is always in demand. When he’s not performing and composing, he is a highly sought-after studio musician and jazz piano instructor.


Ballads – $17.00 Perspective – $16.50

1. On Green Dolphin Street
2. One For My Baby
3. Nature Boy
4. A Time for Love 
5. Invitation
6. Where You Are
7. Lush Life 
8. Stardust
9. Spring Can Really Hang You up the Most
10. Darn That Dream


1. Brighter Days 
2. Colors for Clare
3. Lew’s Waltz
4. Joanne 
5. Blues for You
6. She’s Closer Than You Think
7. David
8. Aftermath
9. Emerald City
10. Brazilian Sapphire
11. Swingin’ at the Sportsmen’s Lodge
12. Silver
13. Cool Breeze
George Mitchell – piano George Mitchell – piano, Rhodes
Paul Ostermayer – Tenor & Soprano Saxophones, Flute
Phil Baker – bass, Tony Jefferson – drums
Play Zone – $17.00    


1. Inspiration 
2. Time Will Tell
3. Let’s Get with It
4. Uniforms 
5. Ballad for Terri 
6. Rise and Fall
7. Play Zone
8. Thank You, New York
9. Slow Hot Wind 
10. All the Things You Are 
11. Croatian Sensation
George Mitchell – piano and B3 organ
Dan Balmer, guitar
Patrick Lamb, tenor saxophone
Rob Davis, tenor saxophone (on Uniforms)
Scott Steed, acoustic bass
Chris Lee, drums