Jay Clayton – Jazz Vocal

 Jay Clayton                           The New York & International Scene
Clayton photo

Jay Clayton is a major force in a new vocal movement in jazz today. Her originality, a spontaneous command of a vocabulary of enchanting sounds, excites audiences and has earned her the respect of fellow musicians and critics.

Ms. Clayton stepped into New York’s exhilarating jazz scene in 1963. Since then she has performed and recorded throughout the U.S., Canada, and Europe with leading jazz and new music artists including Steve Reich, Muhal Richard Abrams, John Cage, Julian Priester, Jane Ira Bloom, Nana Vasconcelos, Stanley Cowell and Bobby McFerrin.

She has appeared at major U.S. venues including Lincoln Center, The Kitchen, Sweet Basil, Jazz Alley and at European festivals including North Sea and Montmartre. She is also a member of the internationally acclaimed improvisatory vocal quartet Vocal Summit, which features Urszula Dudziak, Norma Winstone and Michele Hendricks.

 “Brooklyn 2000” – $25.00  Rare
Brooklyn 1. You Taught My Heart to Sing 
2. Lament for John Coltrane
3. Young and Foolish
4. Raga/Let It Go
5. I Told You So 
6. The Lady Sings the Blues
7. The Lady Sings the Blues
8. Three Free/Random Mondays
George Cable – piano
Gary Bartz – alto & soprano sax
Anthony Cox – bass
Jerry Granelli – drums
(Sunnyside Records)





“In and Out of Love” – $22.50      2 in stock
In and Out of Love

1. Falling in Love with Love 
2. How Deep Is the Ocean? 
3. Freedom Jazz Dance
4. My One and Only Love 
5. Sunshower 
6. For Heaven’s Sake
7. Israel 
8. Never Let Me Go 
9. I Hear a Rhapsody 
10. Lament


Jay Clayton – vocals
Jack Wilkins – guitar
Jay Anderson – Bass

Peace of Wild Things  –  $22.50        3 in stock

1. Free Me
2. Why Because
3. Sometimes
4. Let It Go
5. Love Is a Place
6. Sheila’s Dream
7. Secrets of Living
8. The Peace of Wild Things
9. No Words, Only a Feeling


Jay Clayton – vocals